Skip to content

Workspaces

Workspace switcher

Workspaces are isolated spaces for your notes to help you separate your notes by concern, project, area of work, or similar. For example, you can create a “My Project” workspace to keep your work related notes in, and a “Personal life” workspace to keep your diaries in.

When you launch Darkwrite for the first time, you will choose a name for your first workspace. Every note must belong to a workspace, this is why we initialize a default one for you on first launch.

Using the workspace switcher at the bottom right of the window, at the end of the sidebar, you can create a new workspace by choosing “Create new workspace”.

A dialog will ask for a name for the new workspace. You can always change it later in settings.

Choose the workspace from the switcher. It will immediately switch on click.

Edit workspace dialog

Click the settings icon next to the workspace switcher. In the “Workspace” tab, you’ll see an option to “Edit workspace”. When you click it, a dialog will appear as shown in the image.

You can choose any image as the new icon for your workspace. Cropping your images to a square shape beforehand is recommended to avoid weird looks.

Edit workspace dialog

First, switch to the workspace you want to delete. Then open settings, and choose “Delete workspace”. You will be prompted to re-enter the workspace’s name to confirm you are doing this consciously.